top of page
logo q&p.png

In 1986, the world was introduced to the idea of a futuristic material: in Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home, ship doctor Leonard McCoy (DeForest Kelley) and chief engineer Montgomery Scott (James Doohan) traveled back in time for a pair of humpback whales, which necessitated building a massive tank to hold them. The pair thus revealed the formula for an innovative new transparent aluminum to barter for some heavy Plexiglas they needed for the tank.

ArtyA Watch Blog Presse Quill&Pad Purity Tourbillon Boîtier Saphir

Les baleines dans "Star Trek IV : The Voyage Home"

Le concept de l’aluminium transparent ressemblait à l’époque à une véritable science-fiction : comment diable pouvait-on rendre l’aluminium transparent ?

L’aluminium que nous utilisons généralement n’est pas de l’aluminium pur. En fait, presque aucun aluminium que nous pouvons voir n’existe sous forme d’aluminium pur ; il est trop réactif avec l'oxygène pour rester pur et se trouve donc presque exclusivement sous forme d'oxyde. L'aluminium présent dans les produits que nous utilisons quotidiennement n'est donc pas non plus pur, mais plutôt un alliage qui a été mélangé avec d'autres éléments pour en tirer certaines propriétés et souvent recouvert d'une très fine couche d'oxyde en raison de sa réactivité.

Voici le problème : jusqu'à présent, vous avez probablement pensé à l'aluminium métallique, mais ce n'est pas la seule façon dont l'aluminium peut exister. L'aluminium métallique est très courant, mais les oxydes d'aluminium peuvent former différentes structures cristallines grâce aux différences dans la façon dont la structure atomique de l'oxyde s'est formée. Une autre forme cristalline principale de l’oxyde d’aluminium (Al2O3) est connue sous le nom de corindon, un minéral transparent. Si vous lisez ceci, vous la connaissez probablement mieux sous son nom horloger : glace saphir.

Les formes colorées du corindon – comme les rubis – sont simplement des oxydes d’aluminium contenant des oligo-éléments qui présentent des propriétés différentes. Se pose alors la question suivante : puisque ce que nous appelons aluminium est en réalité un alliage d'aluminium comprenant divers éléments, un oxyde d'aluminium, à savoir le saphir, ne serait-il pas l'expression littérale de l'aluminium transparent ? Je dirais que oui.

Note latérale des passionnés de chimie : l'aluminium métallique (et tous les autres métaux) forme une structure de réseau cristallin lorsqu'il est solide, mais la disposition des atomes est différente de la structure cristalline que nous associerions à de jolies pierres précieuses. La structure atomique est ce qui définit chaque propriété mécanique d'un matériau à une échelle macro, ce qui peut permettre au carbone de créer à la fois du graphite ultra-doux et des diamants dans des arrangements différents.

Cela signifie que nous utilisons de l’aluminium transparent depuis des milliers d’années, mais nous ne savions tout simplement pas de quoi il s’agissait. Et maintenant, grâce à la chimie moderne et à la science des matériaux, les gens ont développé à la fois du saphir artificiel et d’autres formulations céramiques avec de l’aluminium (à savoir l’oxynitrure d’aluminium) pour créer l’aluminium transparent autrefois fictif.

Tout cela pour dire que les montres utilisant du saphir synthétique pour les cristaux utilisent en fait de l'aluminium transparent, ce qui signifierait alors que les montres dans des boîtiers entièrement en verre saphir utilisent effectivement la technologie hypothétique de Star Trek pour l'ensemble du boîtier.

ArtyA Watch Blog Presse Quill&Pad Purity Tourbillon Boîtier Saphir

Entrez ArtyA et sa nouvelle Purity Tourbillon , une montre époustouflante combinant un mouvement tourbillon squeletté ultra-minimal avec un boîtier en verre saphir parfaitement clair et ultra résistant, alias aluminium transparent. La marque n'a pas peur de l'esthétique extrême, mais le Purity Tourbillon est extrême d'une manière plus traditionnelle et pour cette raison, je pense qu'il a beaucoup d'atouts.

ArtyA Watch Blog Presse Quill&Pad Purity Tourbillon Boîtier Saphir

Le Purity Tourbillon d'ArtyA est une expression audacieuse de style, mais très différente de la direction qu'ArtyA prend habituellement, qui comprend des pièces avec des matériaux, des finitions et une esthétique uniques combinées de manière imprévisible. Le Purity Tourbillon porte bien son nom car il s’agit véritablement d’une pièce d’horlogerie distillée sans excès. Le boîtier est la première étape évidente car il s’agit d’un bloc de verre saphir complètement transparent, ne cachant rien et avec un minimum de détails afin de ne pas détourner l’attention du mouvement à l’intérieur.

Le mouvement est extrêmement épuré avec seulement quelques ponts en arc qui maintiennent le rouage et le relient à un tourbillon volant à 9 heures. Le tourbillon semble presque flotter séparément du mouvement grâce à l’unique arceau mince s’étendant de l’assemblage principal. Le mouvement est symétrique selon l'axe horizontal et est assez bien équilibré verticalement grâce au grand diamètre du tourbillon.

Étant donné que le Purity Tourbillon est synonyme de Purity de design et de fonctionnalité, il affiche uniquement les heures et les minutes et n'utilise aucun marqueur, chiffre ou autre élément pour encombrer l'esthétique. Le tourbillon a une rotation de 60 secondes, mais pas de cadran ni de marqueurs pour suivre les secondes au fur et à mesure qu'elles s'écoulent.

La seule caractéristique de conception supplémentaire est le logo ArtyA « A » au-dessus du mécanisme de remontage ; sinon, le boîtier et le mouvement gardent les choses aussi propres que possible.

L’architecture du mouvement est construite autour de la circularité puisque tous les ponts reflètent ou épousent carrément les formes des roues et des barillets. Deux barillets de ressort sont positionnés verticalement côte à côte, encadrant la tige de remontoir, et sont maintenus par un pont inférieur en forme de cercle coupant les pivots. Celui-ci est à son tour maintenu par un pont supérieur avec des retraits correspondant aux bords des barillets, mais suit également le cercle du pont inférieur de sorte que le visuel est un ensemble de cercles empilés.

La répétition de la forme est un moyen solide de créer un intérêt visuel avec un minimum de détails, permettant au design du Purity de paraître à la fois complexe et épuré. L’ensemble des ponts, barillets et mécanisme de remontoir mentionnés ci-dessus s’inscrit dans un cercle plus grand : la platine principale. La répétition de la circularité est beaucoup plus apparente du revers que du recto.

ArtyA Watch Blog Presse Quill&Pad Purity Tourbillon Boîtier Saphir GPHG

Une fois que vous retournez la montre, vous pouvez clairement voir les cercles en forme de matriochka empilés les uns dans les autres qui maintiennent l’ensemble du train d’engrenages. Cela montre également clairement comment le tourbillon est monté à l’opposé de la majeure partie du mouvement, le squelettage étant en forme de cercles superposés. Une grande zone pourrait être laissée ouverte, ce qui donnerait l’impression que la structure qui maintient le tourbillon est très fine.

Bien entendu, le cercle croise un cercle plus petit qui fait partie du diamètre total du mouvement, le fixant rigidement au bord du boîtier. Cette fonctionnalité n'est pas cachée de face, mais elle n'est pas non plus le point fort, permettant un peu de mystère visuel puisque le point central devient le tourbillon tourbillonnant. Avec un diamètre de 17 millimètres et un pont trilobé dominant le look, le tourbillon est clairement destiné à être le point culminant.

ArtyA Watch Blog Press Quill&Pad Purity Tourbillon Sapphire Case GPHG

Le mouvement, fabriqué par un spécialiste des complications en Suisse, est tout l'intérêt du Purity Tourbillon. C'est pourquoi le design des ponts est si minimal, pourquoi le boîtier est fabriqué à partir d'un verre saphir entièrement transparent et pourquoi aucun marqueur, aucun chiffre ni aucun anneau de verre saphir supplémentaire autour du bord n'ont été ajoutés. L'impression que vous êtes censé avoir avec cette pièce est à quel point elle est propre et à quel point elle n'est pas là.

ArtyA Watch Blog Presse Quill&Pad Purity Tourbillon Boîtier Saphir GPHG1 ld.jpg

Revenons au boîtier en verre saphir : c'est bien le composant qui permet au mouvement squelette minimaliste de paraître aussi délicat qu'il l'est. Sans boîtier volumineux en acier ou en métal précieux entourant le mouvement, la montre n'a aucun poids visuel. Il n’y a pratiquement aucun composant qui semble suffisamment épais pour donner du poids au Purity Tourbillon, et cela se confirme lorsque vous le tenez.

ArtyA Watch Blog Presse Quill&Pad Purity Tourbillon Boîtier Saphir GPHG

Le verre saphir est assez léger et, sans véritable étendue d'acier ou de laiton dans le mouvement, grâce à sa conception, la montre n'a tout simplement pas grand-chose à paraître physiquement ou visuellement lourde. Le choix du verre saphir pour le boîtier était probablement la meilleure décision pour atteindre l’objectif de conception, et il est encore assez rare dans l’industrie. Bien sûr, les boîtiers en verre saphir sont apparus davantage ces dernières années, mais les chiffres sont encore faibles et ils sont très chers.

Une fois que vous considérez que le boîtier est en aluminium transparent (techniquement), vous comprenez que cette montre a beaucoup d'atouts, en particulier le peu d'impression qu'elle contient. Il offre également aux fans d'ArytA quelque chose de différent de ses offres habituelles, qui sont en elles-mêmes toujours très différentes les unes des autres.

ArtyA Watch Blog Presse Quill&Pad Purity Tourbillon Boîtier Saphir GPHG

En ce sens, cette montre s’inscrit parfaitement dans l’histoire d’une marque qui a changé les choses à chaque pièce, et celle-ci n’est pas différente.

Cela va être dur puisque la Purity est en verre saphir, mais décomposons cette montre !

  • Wowza Factor * 9.2 Il y a un moment où vous réalisez que cette montre a l'air de ne pas peser quoi que ce soit, et vous êtes très impressionné !

  • Late Night Lust Appeal * 92» 902.212m/s2 Le fort désir pour cette montre commence par le fait que vous ne pouvez jamais complètement saisir sa forme, alors vous restez éveillé toute la nuit pour essayer !

  • MGR * 65.4 La conception même du mouvement suffit à lui donner une note très geek, mais le grand tourbillon volant scelle l'affaire !

  • Fonctionnalité ajoutée * N/A Tout le monde devrait savoir maintenant que les montres les plus cool ne sont pas toujours les plus compliquées et celle-ci fait l'affaire. Quoi qu’il en soit, vous pouvez ignorer la crème Gotta-HAVE-That et simplement profiter du quasi-néant qu’est le Purity Tourbillon !

  • Aïe Outline * 9.98 Un ischio-jambier tendu ! Il est toujours crucial de s'étirer avant et après une activité intense, de peur d'avoir des crampes ou, pire encore, de contracter quelque chose d'important comme vos ischio-jambiers. Pourtant, je marcherais volontiers en boitant après avoir tiré un muscle si cela me permettait de boiter avec le Purity Tourbillon au poignet !

  • Moment Sirène * C'est tellement minime ! Il est difficile de ne pas tomber éperdument quand quelque chose est si audacieux et si minimal, et le Purity est la synthèse parfaite des deux !

  • Awesome Total * 805 Commencez par la réserve de marche en heures (70) et multipliez par le diamètre du boîtier en millimètres (46), enfin divisez par la fréquence du balancier en Hz (4) pour un total génial clairement translucide !

Pour plus d'informations, veuillez visiter www.artya.com/artya-purity-tourbillon .

Faits en bref ArtyA Purity Tourbillon
Boîtier : 46 x 12,5 mm, verre saphir
Mouvement : calibre Purity Tourbillon à remontage manuel avec tourbillon volant une minute de 17 mm, réserve de marche de 70 heures, fréquence de 28 800 alternances par heure/4 Hz
Fonctions : heures, minutes
Limitation : 13 pièces
Prix : 120'000 francs suisses

bottom of page

logo q&p.png

In 1986, the world was introduced to the idea of a futuristic material: in Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home, ship doctor Leonard McCoy (DeForest Kelley) and chief engineer Montgomery Scott (James Doohan) traveled back in time for a pair of humpback whales, which necessitated building a massive tank to hold them. The pair thus revealed the formula for an innovative new transparent aluminum to barter for some heavy Plexiglas they needed for the tank.

Star-Trek-whales.jpeg

Whales in ‘Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home’

The concept of transparent aluminum seemed like true science fiction at the time: how on earth could aluminum be made transparent?

The aluminum that we generally use is not pure aluminum. In fact, nearly no aluminum that we can see exists as pure aluminum; it is too reactive with oxygen to stay pure and so is almost exclusively found as an oxide. The aluminum in products that we use every day, therefore, is also not pure, but rather an alloy that has been mixed with other elements to derive certain properties and often covered with a very thin oxide layer due to its reactivity.

Here’s the rub: so far you have probably been thinking of metallic aluminum, but that is not the only way aluminum can exist. Metallic aluminum is very common, but aluminum oxides can form different crystalline structures thanks to differences in how the atomic structure of the oxide occurred. Another main crystalline form of aluminum oxide (Al2O3) is known as corundum, a transparent mineral. If you’re reading this, you probably know it better by its horological name: sapphire crystal.

Colorful forms of corundum – like rubies – are simply aluminum oxides with trace elements that present different properties. So this begs the question: since what we call aluminum is actually an aluminum alloy comprising various elements, wouldn’t an aluminum oxide, namely sapphire, be the literal expression of transparent aluminum? I’d say it is.

Chemistry nerd side note: metallic aluminum (and all other metals) form a crystalline lattice structure when solid, but the arrangement of atoms is different than the crystalline structure that we would associate with pretty gemstones. Atomic structure is what defines every mechanical property of a material on a macro scale, which is what can lead to the carbon being able to create both super-soft graphite and diamonds when in different arrangements.

This means we’ve been using transparent aluminum for thousands of years, we just didn’t know that’s what it was. And now, thanks to modern chemistry and material science, people have developed both artificial sapphire and other ceramic formulations with aluminum (namely aluminum oxynitride) to create the once-thought-fictional transparent aluminum.

All of this is to say that watches using synthetic sapphire for the crystals are actually using transparent aluminum, which would then mean that watches in full sapphire crystal cases are effectively using Star Trek-hypothesized technology for the entire case.

wrist shoot 1 copie ld.jpg

Enter ArtyA and its new Purity Tourbillon, a stunning watch combining an ultra-minimal skeletonized tourbillon movement with the perfectly clear and super-strong sapphire crystal case, aka transparent aluminum. The brand doesn’t shy away from extreme aesthetics, but the Purity Tourbillon is extreme in a more mainstream way and for that reason I think it has a lot going for it.

ArtyA Purity Tourbillon.jpg

The Purity Tourbillon from ArtyA is a bold expression of style, but vastly different than the direction ArtyA usually takes, which includes pieces with unique materials, finishes, and aesthetics combined in unpredictable ways. The Purity Tourbillon is aptly named because it is truly a distilled piece of watchmaking without excess. The case is the obvious first step as it is a completely transparent block of sapphire crystal, hiding nothing and with minimal details so as to not distract from the movement inside.

The movement is extremely pared back with only a few arched bridges holding the going train and connecting to a flying tourbillon at 9 o’clock. The tourbillon almost seems to float separately from the movement thanks to the single thin arch extending from the main assembly. The movement is symmetrical along the horizontal axis and is fairly well balanced vertically due to the large diameter of the tourbillon.

Since the Purity Tourbillon is all about purity of design and function, it only displays hours and minutes and uses no markers, numerals, or other features to clutter the aesthetic. The tourbillon has a 60-second rotation, but no dial or markers to track the seconds as they tick off.
 

The only additional design feature is the ArtyA “A” logo on top of the winding mechanism; otherwise the case and movement keep things as clean as can be.

The architecture of the movement is built around circularity as all the bridges either reflect or downright match the shapes of the wheels and barrels. Two mainspring barrels are vertically positioned side by side, flanking the winding stem, and are held by a lower bridge in the shape of a circle intersecting the pivots. This is in turn is held by an upper bridge with indents matching the rims of the barrels, but also follows the circle of the lower bridge so the visual is a set of stacked circles.

Repetition of shape is a solid way to build visual interest with minimal details, allowing the design of the Purity to feel both complex and clean at the same time. The entirety of the aforementioned bridges, barrels, and winding mechanism fall within a larger circle: the main plate. The circularity repetition is much more apparent from the reverse than the front.

ArtyA purity back ld.jpg

Once you flip the watch over, you can clearly see the matryoshka-like circles stacked one inside the other holding the entire gear train. This also makes clear how the tourbillon is mounted opposite the bulk of the movement, with the skeletonizing shaped like overlapping circles. A large area could be left open that makes it seem like the structure holding the tourbillon is whisper thin.

Of course, the circle intersects with a smaller circle that is part of the overall movement diameter, rigidly attaching it to the edge of the case. This feature isn’t hidden from the front, but it also isn’t the highlight, allowing a bit of visual mystery since the focus becomes the whirling tourbillon. At 17 millimeters in diameter, and with a trilobed bridge dominating the look, the tourbillon is clearly meant to be the highlight.

ArtyA Purity Tourbillon ld.jpg

The movement, crafted by a complication specialist in Switzerland, is the entire point of the Purity Tourbillon. This is why the design of the bridges is so minimal, why the case is made out of completely transparent sapphire crystal, and why no markers or numerals or an extra sapphire crystal ring around the edge have been added. The impression you are supposed to get with this piece is how clean it is and how much isn’t there.

DSC01821 ld.jpg

Coming back to the sapphire crystal case: it really is the component that allows the minimalist skeleton movement to seem as delicate as it does. With no bulky steel or precious metal case surrounding the movement there is no visual weight to the watch. There are barely any components that seem thick enough to give the Purity Tourbillon any heft, and that is confirmed when you hold it.

wrist shoot  copie ld.jpg

Sapphire crystal is fairly light, and without any real expanse of steel or brass in the movement thanks to its design the watch simply doesn’t have much to feel physically or visually heavy. The choice of sapphire crystal for the case was probably the best decision to achieve the design intent, and it is still pretty rare in the industry. Sure, sapphire crystal cases have popped up more in recent years, but the numbers are still low and they are very expensive.

Once you consider that the case is made from transparent aluminum (technically) then you understand that this watch has a lot going for it, particularly in how little it feels like there is. It also provides fans of ArytA with something different than its regular offerings, which are in and of themselves always very different from each other.

photo poignet purity ld.jpg

In that way, this watch fits perfectly with the history of a brand that has changed things up with every piece, and this one is no different.

It’ll be hard since the Purity is made from sapphire crystal, but let’s break this watch down !

  • Wowza Factor * 9.2 There is a moment where you realize that this watch looks like it shouldn’t weigh anything, and you are wowed extra hard!

  • Late Night Lust Appeal * 92» 902.212m/s2 The strong yearning for this watch begins with the fact that you can never fully grasp it’s shape, so you stay up all night to try!

  • M.G.R. * 65.4 The sheer design of the movement is enough to give this a highly geeky rating, but the large flying tourbillon seals the deal!

  • Added-Functionitis * N/A Everyone should know by now that the coolest watches aren’t always the most complicated and this one fits the bill. Regardless, you can skip the Gotta-HAVE-That cream and just enjoy the near nothingness that is the Purity Tourbillon!

  • Ouch Outline * 9.98 A strained hamstring! It is always crucial to stretch before and after strenuous activity, lest you get cramps, or worse strain something important like your hamstring. Still, I’d gladly walk with a limp from pulling a muscle if it meant I could limp with the Purity Tourbillon on my wrist!

  • Mermaid Moment * It’s so minimal! It’s hard not to fall head over heels when something is so bold yet so minimal, and the Purity is the perfect synthesis of both!

  • Awesome Total * 805 Start with the power reserve in hours (70) and multiply by the diameter of the case in millimeters (46), finally divide by the frequency of the balance in Hz (4) for a clearly translucent awesome total!

For more information, please visit www.artya.com/artya-purity-tourbillon.

Quick Facts ArtyA Purity Tourbillon
Case: 46 x 12.5 mm, sapphire crystal
Movement: manually wound Purity Tourbillon caliber with 17 mm flying one-minute tourbillon, 70-hour power reserve, 28,800 vph/4 Hz frequency
Functions: hours, minutes
Limitation: 13 pieces
Price: 120,000 Swiss francs